Franschhoek and Fransvliet

IMG_0390

IMG_0680

It was my birthday over the weekend, so my boyfriend took me to Franschhoek for a surprise weekend. It is a small French town in the wine lands, with a lot of vineyards and a small colonial town center; it is one of the most beautiful towns I’ve been to in South Africa. I really recommend everyone to go there even if it is just to spend the day. We did many things, we went horse-back riding amongst vineyards, we took the car and drove along the mountains where I saw the most stunning scenery I’ve ever seen, we also had wonderful dinners at two restaurants: Motte and Cafe Bon Bon (both at vineyards). It was a memorable experience and I would love to go there again sometime soon.

There are many B&Bs, guest houses and vineyards you can choose from for accommodation. We stayed at a lovely, very small and quaint, guest house called Fransvliet. Fransvliet is a working fig, olive and grape farm which also has accommodation for guests. They are known for their amazing breakfast, which really were phenomenal and I can see why people rage about them. Very good service, very very nice rooms, all in all, I recommend this guest house to anyone traveling to Franschhoek.

Fransvliet website: www.fransvliet.co.za

IMG_0309

Church in Franschhoek

IMG_0370

View from Fransvliet

IMG_0365

Fransvliet

IMG_0719

 

Leave a Reply

