Oranjezicht City Farm Market

IMG_2948

One of the nicest things about living in Cape Town are the markets. When I first got here all I wanted to do was go to the Old Biscuit Mill because I thought it was the best in town (I still think it is one of the best). But the more I went the more annoyed I was at how busy it got and how impossible it was to move around and find a seat. So when I first heard about a smaller, and more genuine and farm-like, market I couldn’t wait for the next Saturday to arrive to see what culinary wonders awaited me. This market is the Oranjezicht City Farm market located in the city. When I went there the first time I didn’t quite understand it as much because it was much smaller market with less variety, but the more I went and the more I discovered the more I fell in love with it. Now it is my favorite market in Cape Town.

What is unique about the market is that the Oranjezicht City Farm (OZCF) is a community garden that is open all week long and where you can volunteer. On Saturday they have the market on a small park on the side of the farm (they used to have a tent but the wind blew it down about two weeks ago). It is a very beautiful market with a lot of wholesome and “artisanal” foods, a lot of the stands offer gluten-free, vegan, vegetarian, healthy and organic options. I love to go to buy my groceries of the week from there because they sell the fruits and veggies that grow in the garden, so not only do you get very fresh and organic foods but they also use the money to pay for staff. Another plus to OZCF market is that is a local Saturday morning hangout, so if you go you will not see as many tourists as you will at the Old Biscuit Mill.

The OZCF market is one of the hidden treasures that Cape Town has to offer, it is a very special place where you can discover local foods and talent.

So my favorites are: OZCF vegetable and fruit stand, Spades and Spoons Deli (try the gluten-free & sugar-free chocolate or carrot cake!), Sababa (falafels), Wilde at Heart (cordials), O’Ways (vegetarian buns), Woodstock Bakery (sourdough bread) and stand with the gluten-free crepes.

ENJOY! it is one of my favorite places.

OZCF website: http://www.ozcf.co.za

IMG_2955  IMG_2957 IMG_2953  IMG_2937  IMG_2947

Leave a Reply

